Born in the U.S.A.


After the Beethoven marathon, Antonio Pappano returns with an all-American programme featuring three compositions exemplifying creative developments across the Atlantic. Bernstein’s musical On the Town, marked by a sequence of dances which, in their pronounced rhythmic verve, cast an eye towards the beat of jazz and the blues. The piece is balanced by Barber’s sweet and lyrical Concerto for violin and orchestra (with soloist Gil Shaham making his much anticipated return to Santa Cecilia) – now a classic in the violin literature. Composed by John Adams in 1985, Harmonielehre, or “harmony study,” a broad work for orchestra in three movements, attempts to combine the development techniques typical of Minimalism (in which Adams is one of the leading figures) with the expressive and harmonic setting of late-Romantic music. And although other major implications may be discovered in it, this music, so mobile, so engaging and so modern – without necessarily being a difficult listening experience – certainly never fails to enthral and excite.


Get 30% Off at the box office


Tickets start from 13€

accademia-santa-cecilia-logo18 January at 8.30pm
Auditorium Parco della Musica – Rome

Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia
Antonio Pappano
Gil Shaham violin

Bernstein On the Town: Three Dance Episodes
Barber Violin Concerto
Adams Harmonielehre

More from Romeing Editorial Staff
Mansalto CountryHouses in Tuscany
The Mansalto & Montemaggiore estate, with their vineyards, olive trees and countryhouses...
Read More
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *