The Formula E returns to Rome on 15-16 July 2023 with a double showdown

Rome E-Prix: everything you need to know

The Rome E-Prix will be back in Rome on 15-16 July 2023. This year, as already in 2022, there will be two races in Rome, two E-prix of Formula E. Again, the ancient streets of Rome will welcome the world’s fastest electric cars.

Formula E remains a new concept in the world of motorsport but it has attracted big money sponsors and some of the hottest racing talent on the planet since its inception in 2014. Here’s what to expect when the race comes to the Eternal City.

What is Formula E?

Formula E is a class of motorsport only using electric-powered cars. The Championship is now in its nineth season, having started in Beijing in 2014. Races all take place on temporary city-center circuits, encapsulating some of the most impressive sites in the world – not least in Rome.

The 16 races scheduled for the 2023 season will see the debut of the third-generation race car as a major innovation. These cars will be smaller, more powerful, and lighter, resulting in improved performance. The engine power will increase by 25%, reaching 350 kW in qualifying and in Attack Mode, enabling speeds exceeding 300 km/h.

This year there will be an important regulatory change: the races will no longer be time-based (45 minutes plus one lap), but will instead return to having a set number of laps, similar to Formula 1.

Best Events In July In Rome

Where will the Formula E track in Rome be?

The track will be situated on the southern outskirts of the city in the Eur Neighbourhood.

One of the longest tracks on the calendar, the Eur City Circuit runs around the Marconi Obelisk, set against the backdrop of the iconic Square Colosseum.

Rome Eur District Guide

formula e 2023 in rome track

Who are the drivers and teams?

There are 22 drivers signed up for the 2023 calendar, each with two cars on the grid. Stoffel Vandoorne, the Belgian driver from Mercedes Team won last year’s driver’s championship and is defending his crown. Other teams include BMW Andretti, Mercedes Team, Mahindra, Rokit Venturi Racing, Tag Heuer Porsche and Jaguar Racing.

Formula E arrives to Rome

The Allianz E-Village

Included with your ticket is access to the Allianz E-Village. It’s a full-day festival of entertainment and exploration for fans of all ages. Expect live music, a gaming arena, a kids’ area and a wide range of food and beverage options.

Where can I buy tickets for Rome E-Prix?

Tickets can be purchased on Ticketone website. Cost starts from €21.50 for the green arena till €132 for the Premium Experience. Double e-prix starts from €39.

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, events, and insights from Rome

By subscribing you agree with our privacy policy.

Tags from the story
, , ,
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *